CARVER HIGH SCHOOL /JACKET INTEGRATED ACADEMY

3545 Carver School Road

Winston-Salem, NC 27105

 

 

ACADEMIC PROFILE

 

ADMINISTRATION                     Phone (336) 727-2987                                              FAX (336) 727-8211

                                   

Principal                                                Ronald Travis                                                                                        rltravis@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

Assistant Principal                               Michael Mack                                                                                      memack@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

Assistant Principal                               Robin Willard                                                                                       rwillard@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

Assistant Principal                               Barbara Burke                                                                                     bhburke@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

 

 

STUDENT SERVICES                 Phone (336) 727-2230                                              FAX (336) 727-2733

 

Director                                                  Tonya Withers                                                                      tdwithers@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

Counselor                                             Theresa Hamer                                                                    tmhamer@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

Counselor                                             Nakisha Ingram                                                                   ntingram@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

Counselor                                             Renae Irving                                                                       rmirving@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

Administrative Asst                             Donna Claggett                                                                    dkclaggett@wsfcs.k12.nc.us           

Registrar                                                Chundra Sansbury                                                               crsansbury@wsfcs.k12.nc.us                          

Data Manager                                      Michele Grissler                                                                   mgrissler@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

Family Engagement                            Patricia Horne                                                                      phhorne@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

GIP Liaison                                            Susie Bremer                                                                       scbremer@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

 

FACULTY

57 teachers; 90 total staff members; 34% with Masters level degrees, 1 with Ph.D., 1 National Board Certified

 

DEMOGRAPHICS

Carver High School is one of twelve regular high schools in the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County School system.  It is located in a residential area slightly northeast of downtown Winston-Salem, a city with a population of about 194,000.  Enrollment is approximately 727 students with a senior class of 185, including Jacket Integrated Academy at Carver High School.  Encompassing grades 9-12, the school operates on a modified block schedule, which includes year-long and block classes.

 

ADVANCED PLACEMENT/HONORS COURSES

Advanced Placement coursers are available for Carver students in Art, English, Foreign Languages, Mathematics, Social Studies, Music and Computer Science at the Career Center, a central location that serves all students in the WS/FCS system.  Honor classes, and Honors Seminar are offered at Carver in English, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Foreign Language, the Arts, Newspaper and Yearbook.  Dual Enrollment courses are offered at Forsyth Technical Community College.

 

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS/WEIGHTED AVERAGES

Students in grades 9-12 must meet the requirements of the Future Ready Core Course of Study.  Class rank is based on weighted quality point average.  One (1) additional point is added for honors and dual enrollment courses and two (2) additional points are added for advanced placement (AP) courses.

 

SCHOLARSHIP OPPORTUNITIES

Carver is proud of its ongoing tradition of academic excellence.  Its strong, varied programs have produced Morehead Scholars, NC Teaching Fellows, National Merit Scholars, and Duke Power, Tylenol, and Coca-Cola Scholarship recipients.  The 2012 graduating classed amassed approximately $2.5 million in scholarship monies.

 

POST-SECONDARY PLANS

4-year college       31%                                        Trade, Business, Etc.          5%                                          Employment         11%

2-year college       43%                                        Military                                   7%                                         

 

GRADING SCALE

A 100-93                              B 92-85                          C 84-77                        D 76-70                                 F Below 70

Revised 08/29/12

Last Modified on September 24, 2012