Congratulations to the following staff members who have been elected Officers of the School Improvement Team for 2017-18. Chairman - Ellen Gordon (Second Term); Vive-Chairman Kara Libby ; Secretary - Brent David. Mr. Larry C. Berry will remain as Process Manager.

    Comments (-1)
  • DiPresso -Long Secures Donors Choose Grant

    Main Street Academy High School English Teacher Marie Dipresso-Long has secured a fully funded grant form DonorsChoose.org. the grant provides for classroom reading materials and resources. Donations were received from as far away as Indianapolis, Indiana and Palo Alto, California. DonorsChoose.org is a free non-profit website where teachers can receive funding for student resources. Her classroom project is entitled ":Books Open the World."

    Comments (-1)
  • Main Street Welcomes New Staff

    The following new staff members will be teaching at Main Street Academy during the 2017-18 school year: Marie Dipresso-Long (High School English); Angie Vaughn (High School Math) ; Dr. Judge Kornegay (High School Social Studies); Patricia Phillips (High School EC Resource); Robin Mills (Middle School EC Resource); Ed Hairston (Middle School Teacher Assistant). Several assignment changes are effective with the 2017-18 school year as well: Melissa Smith (EC Resource Teacher-also assigned to CIP); Luther Lerak (In-School Suspenion); Brent Jerald (High School Teacher Assistant- Bus Supervisor); Twana Wilson (OCS Teacher); Ricky Holt (OPA Assistant);

    Comments (-1)
  • Jacqueline Hunter-Richard Named Teacher of the Year

    CTE Teacher Jackie Richard was named the 2017 Teacher of the Year at Main Street Academy by a vote of the faculty. Richard has been teaching at Griffith and Main Street for over 10 years and is currently a member of the Trailblazers Program in the WSFCS District. The program is designed for potential district administrators.

    Comments (-1)
  • The next meeting of the School Improvement Team for Main Street Academy for 2017-18 will be held on Monday, October 9, 2017. SIT members are: Ronald Travis; Lakeisha Hill; Larry C. Berry; April Winn; Deirdre Inzar; Donna Brown; Kara Libby; Tamika Hall; Ellen Gordon; Garrett Davis; Brent David. Goals for the 2017-18 school year are as folows:
    (1) By implementing the school discipline plan, the number of Out of School Suspensions will be reduced by 10% from the 2016-17 school year..
    (2) Main Street Academy African-American and Hispanis students will increase academic success by 10% proficiency in English / Language Arts on EOC and EOG tests. 
    (3) Main Street Academy African-American and Hispanic students will increase academic success by 10% proficiency in Mathematics on EOC and EOG tests. 
    A complete list of the School Improvements Goals and Tasks are found in Indistar.org. 
    Comments (-1)
  • High School Benchmark Testing will begin on October 5, 2017.  An official testing schedule for all students will be published by Mrs. Meta Robinson, Testing Coordinator.

    Comments (-1)
  • The Main Street Academy Bell Schedule for 2017-18 is as follows: 7:30 A.M. - 2:00 P.M.  Busses leave each day at 2:00 P.M. The  Bell Schedule will feature a daily "Jaguar Time" for Character Education from 7:30-8:00 A.M. 
    Comments (-1)

Upcoming Events

  • There are no upcoming events to display.

View Calendar