• 2013 Hall of Fame Inductees

    Dean Browder

    Dean Browder served as President of the MTHS Athletics Board from 2004 – 2011. He was awarded the WSFCS Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Award 2011, and established the Spartan Club and the Banner Sponsor program in 2005. He led efforts that enabled more than $1 Million in athletic department improvements. He also presented information to classes to promote financial literacy. His philosophy is, “Do as much as you can, for as many as you can, as often as you can.”

    Barry and Sabrina Howard

    The Howards served nine years as MTHS Band and Orchestra Directors, respectively, from 1998-2006. Under Barry’s leadership, the MTHS Marching Band earned consistent Superior ratings and the Symphonic and Concert bands earned eleven Superior ratings in State Competitions. He was the district President and Chair of the All-District band auditions for the Northwest NC District Bandmembers Association, and he was a charter member of the North Carolina Bandmaster Association’s Marching Band Committee. Sabrina spent ten years as the Orchestra director at Mount Tabor, where the MTHS Orchestra earned nine Superior ratings at the State Festival. She is the former President of the NC Orchestra Association and was became National Board certified in 2005. She was named the Western Region Orchestra Director of the Year in 2007.

    Dan McNatt

    Dan McNatt is a Mount Tabor High School graduate from 1969. While he was a student at Mount Tabor, he was the sophomore and junior class presidents and the Student Body president in 1968-69. He was a three sport athlete in Baseball, Track, and Football and was All-City/County and District in 1967 and 1968. He was also a John M. Morehead Scholar at UNC Chapel Hill from 1969- 1973. Dan is responsible for scoring the first touchdown in Mount Tabor High School Football History in 1967. He was inducted into the WSFCS Sports Hall of Fame in 1990.

    Sandy McNeely

    Sandy McNeely was a teacher, assistant athletic director, and coach for 37 years, with 21 years of service to Mount Tabor High School from 1989-2010. She was the Academic Team Head Coach, and the Math Team coach, winning the Math Championship four times. She coached Cheerleaders to the 1997 UCA South Atlantic Regional Championship and was the President of the Cheerleading Coaches’ Association from 1989-1991. You just can’t hide that Sandy McNeely Spartan Pride!

    Stuart Scott

    Stuart Scott attended Mount Tabor High School from 1979-1981 and participated in Mount Tabor’s first musical, Bye, Bye, Birdie. He was captain of the Football Team in 1980 and is a 1987 graduate of UNC Chapel Hill with a BA in Speech Communication. He serves as an anchor for ESPN’s Sportscenter and Monday Night Countdown and is a monthly contributor to ESPN the Magazine.

    Ryan Taylor

    Ryan Taylor is a Mount Tabor High School graduate from 2006, where he earned eight varsity letters in Football and Lacrosse. He was a two-time all-conference selection in Football and led the team to two 4A State quarterfinals. He was also selected to the Shrine Bowl in 2005. After high school, he played football at UNC Chapel Hill and was an Academic All-ACC Special Teams Captain. He graduated from Chapel Hill in 2011 and was drafted by the Green Bay Packers.