• World Language Courses in WS/FCS

    High School Courses Middle School Courses
    Spanish Spanish
    French French
    German German
    Latin Latin
    Japanese Chinese
    Chinese Spanish for Native Speakers
    Spanish for Native Speakers World Language Exploratory
    American Sign Language  

    All of the listed courses are available at the high school level, including Advanced Placement courses available in Spanish, French, German, Latin, Japanese, and Chinese.  The International Baccalaureate courses are available in Spanish, French, Latin and German. All course offerings are based upon the number of students registered.

    Middle school students are eligible to earn high school Level 1 course credit on all middle school language courses.  The high school Level 1 curriculum is divided over the 6th, 7th, and 8th grade courses.  These are a sequence of courses in which each year builds upon the knowledge and skills learned in the previous grade.  Therefore, students begin their language studies in 6th grade, continue in 7th and 8th grades, and are then eligible to earn credit on their transcript.  In order to earn Level 1 credit, a student must earn at least a "C" for the final grade on the 8th grade course.  If a student is successful in this sequence of courses and earns the Level 1 course credit, it will go on their high school transcript.  A student is then able to enroll in Level 2 as a 9th grader, allowing students the opportunity to continue onto upper level language courses sooner than beginning in 9th grade.  The Level 1 credit earned in middle school does qualify as a credit required for college entrance, view this information which explains the middle school World Languages program and eligibility for high school credit, and lists the languages available at each middle school.