2021 Virtual Core Awards

  • The 2021 Core Awards took place on May 6, 2021! For the first time the district added a new category, Certified Instructional Support Personnel of the Year!  Here are the finalists for 2021.


    The finalists for Teacher of the Year:

    • Susan Stephens, Fifth Grade, Whitaker Elementary
    • Nick Sebesta, Sixth-Grade Social Studies, Clemmons Middle
    • Jennifer Solis, Spanish, Hanes Magnet Middle*
    • Latoya Scott, Science, Atkins Academic & Technology High
    • Gerianne Bartlett, English/Journalism, Mount Tabor High

    The finalists for Classified Employee of the Year:

    • Catherine Sigmon, Food Service Supervisor, The Children’s Center
    • Heather Surratt, Executive Assistant to Deputy Superintendent, Central Office
    • Sandra Funk, ESL (English as a Second Language) Assistant, Kernersville Elementary
    • Leroy Collins Jr., Lead Custodian, Reynolds High*
    • Jessica Ivette Avalos, Media Assistant, Northwest Middle

    The finalists for Certified Instructional Support Personnel of the Year:

    • Eva Bishop, School Counselor, Jefferson Elementary
    • Rachel Patterson, Instructional Facilitator, Hall-Woodward Elementary
    • Nicole Beale, Director of Student Services, Reynolds High
    • Shelby Ijames, Instructional Facilitator, Caleb’s Creek Elementary*
    • Kelly Ryan, Instructional Facilitator, Morgan Elementary

    The finalists for Principal of the Year:

    • Donald Wyatt, East Forsyth Middle
    • Dr. Shelia Burnette, Konnoak Elementary
    • Celena Tribby, Kimmel Farm Elementary
    • Ed Weiss, Mount Tabor High*
    • Shane O’Neal, Jefferson Middle

    The finalists for Assistant Principal of the Year:

    • Katie McGregor, Jefferson Elementary*
    • Crystal Brown-Williams, WS/FCS Virtual Academy
    • Paul Pressly, Speas Global Elementary
    • Cheryl Bowling, Mineral Springs Elementary
    • Chris Holbrook, Wiley Magnet Middle