• November is designated as Native American and Alaska Native Heritage month. As we embark on celebrating the rich culture and history of our American Indian community, we must remember to teach historical truths and not perpetuate cultural stereotypes. Did you know that there are 573 federally recognized Native American and Alaska Native tribes and villages in the United States, with eight tribes located here in North Carolina? Each of these American Indian tribes has its own language, culture, history, traditions, and values.

    Comments (-1)