• Instructional Staff


    Mr. Matthew Liner - Director of Bands

    A graduate of Appalachian State University, Matt Liner is currently in his 18th year of teaching and is the band director at Meadowlark Middle School in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.  Ensembles under Mr. Liner’s direction have received consistent superior ratings at the district/region concert and jazz band festivals.  Each year, numerous students from his program regularly qualify for membership in county, district, region and all-state honors ensembles.  Meadowlark has also had consistent participation in the district solo and ensemble music performance adjudication.

    Mr. Liner has had the honor of conducting several honors jazz/concert band clinics and has adjudicated marching and concert band competitions/festivals/MPA’s across the southeast.  He has also had the privilege of instructing three ensembles that have performed at the North Carolina Music Educator’s Annual Professional Development Conference.

    Matt was a member of the world championship finalist Carolina Crown Drum and Bugle Corps and was a part of the corps’ instructional staff.  As a visual designer, Mr. Liner programs for several marching bands across the Carolinas.

    In 2011 Mr. Liner was selected as the Band Director of the Year by the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Band Directors Association.  He is also the 2013-2014 recipient of the Northwest District Bandmasters Association Award of Excellence.

    Matt has served as a member of the board of directors for the Northwest District Bandmasters Association and is a past-chairman for the North Carolina Music Educators Association Jazz Section.  Mr. Liner’s professional affiliations include the National Association for Music Education, North Carolina Music Educators Association, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia and the American School Band Directors Association.

    Matt and his wife Laura reside in Lexington with their daughter Naomi and two cats Harvey & Bella.
     
     
    Sectional & Private Lessons Instructors

    Ms. Lissie Okopny - Flute
    (ljokopny@yahoo.com)

    Mr. Peter Shanahan - Flute (peterpa2@hotmail.com)
     
    Mr. Alex Liedtke - Oboe (liedtke.alex@gmail.com)

    Mr. Saxton Rose - Bassoon (roses@uncsa.edu)

    M
    r. W.C. Lanning  - Clarinet (wlanning@triad.rr.com)
     
    Mr. Charlie Thompson  - Clarinet/Saxophone (thompscha@aol.com)

    Dr. Eileen Young - Bass Clarinet (youngem@wfu.edu)

    Mr. Adam Joiner - Saxophone (aljoiner@wsfcs.k12.nc.us)
     
    Mr. Brandon Noftle - Saxophone (bcnoftle@wsfcs.k12.nc.us)
     
    Mr. Karl Kassner - Trumpet (karlkassner@gmail.com)
     
    Mr. Jay Meachum - Trumpet & Improvisation (jaymeachum@gmail.com)
     
    Ms. Sonja Guthrie - French Horn (sguthriehorns@gmail.com)

    Mrs. Mary Kate Bowman Choat - Trombone (mkbowman@wsfcs.k12.nc.us)
     
    Ms. Katie Cox - Trombone (bandfrepairs@gmail.com)

    Mr.
    Justin McCrary - Trombone (mccraryjg@gmail.com

    Dr. Mark Norman - Baritone/Tuba (normanm@uncsa.edu)

    Dr. Steve Barnhart - Percussion
     (percjazz@uwyo.edu)
     
    Mr. Colin Choat - Percussion (ccchoat@wsfcs.k12.nc.us)
     
    Mr. Greg Dills - Percussion (gregdills1@gmail.com)