• Carver Nation

    CARVER HIGH SCHOOL

    3545 Carver School Road

    Winston-Salem, NC 27105

    Carver Nation Mission

    The Citizens of Carver Nation will teach, learn, and model skills and attitudes to promote student growth and create academic excellence in a safe, orderly environment. All members of the nation will be empowered to prepare for and adapt to change, to work courteously and effectively with others, and to think critically and act responsibly as productive members of society and life-long learners.

     

     School Leadership

    Main Office Phone (336) 727-2987               Main Office Fax (336) 727-8211

    Name

    Title

    Email

    Dr. Thyais Maxwell

    Principal

    tlmaxwell@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Angela Alonzo  

    Assistant Principal 

    aalonzo catolliver@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Ashantae Brooks 

    Assistant Principal

    ambrooks@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Dewayne Tillman  

    Assistant Principal

    dltillman @wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Cecelia Tolliver 

    Assistant Principal

    of Instruction  

    catolliver @wsfcs.k12.nc.us

     

    Student Services

    Phone (336) 727-2230                      Fax (336) 727-2733

    Name

    Title

    Email

    Michelle Hines

    Director

    10th -12th Grade

    Last Name: A-B

    myhines@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  

    Arneathia Brown

    Counselor 

    10th - 12th Grade

    Last Name: M-Z

    ambrown2@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Crystal Davidson  

    Counselor 

    10th - 12th Grade

    Last Name: C-L

    cmdavidson@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Jerrod Johnson

    Counselor 

    9th Grade

    jbjohnson@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Phyllis Chisholm

    Administrative Asst.

    pbchisholm@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Mia Jackson

    Data Manager

    msjackson@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Mia Crow

    Registrar 

    mdcrow@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Patricia Hutchenson 

    Freshman Transition Coordinator

    phhorne@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Hector Mendoza

    FTCC

    hmendozaarias@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Torry Ellison

    Graduation Coach

    taellison@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

     

     

    FACULTY

    48 teachers; 91 total staff members; 34% with Masters-level degrees, 4 with Ph.D., 2 National Board Certified

     

    DEMOGRAPHICS

    Carver High School is one of twelve regular high schools in the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County School system. It is located in a residential area slightly northeast of downtown Winston-Salem, a city with a population of about 251,762. Enrollment is approximately 713 students with a senior class of 116. Encompassing grades 9-12, the school operates on a modified block schedule, which includes year-long and block classes.

     

    HONORS COURSES

    Honors level courses are offered at Carver in English, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Career Technical Education, World Language, the Arts, Newspaper and Yearbook. Dual Enrollment courses are offered at Forsyth Technical Community College.

     

    GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS/WEIGHTED AVERAGES

    Students in grades 9-12 must meet the requirements of the Future Ready Core Course of Study. Class rank is based on the weighted quality point average. One (1) additional point is added for Advanced Placement and dual enrollment courses and one half (.5) additional points are added for Honors level courses.

     

    SCHOLARSHIP OPPORTUNITIES

    Carver is proud of its ongoing tradition of academic excellence. Its strong, varied programs have produced Morehead Scholars, NC Teaching Fellows, National Merit Scholars, and Duke Power, Tylenol, and Coca-Cola Scholarship recipients.

     

    POST-SECONDARY PLANS

    4-year college 26% Trade, Business, Etc. <1% Employment 30%

    2-year college 34% Military <1% Undecided 7%

     

    GRADING SCALE

    A 100-90 B 89-80 C 79-70 D 69-60 F Below 60

     

     

     

    Revised 10/26/20

     

Last Modified on January 4, 2024