North Carolina Young Adult Book Award: Features titles that are suggested by students and media coordinators from North Carolina. Titles are voted on in March with winners announced in April.

    teens topten YALSA Teens Top Ten:  The Teens' Top Ten is a "teen choice" list, where teens nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year!

    Young Adult Library Services Association: "Honors the best teen literature each year with it six literary awards."

     American Indian Library Association

    American Indian Library Association:  "Honors the very best writing and illustrations by and about American Indians."

    apala Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature:  "The goal of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature is to honor and recognize individual work about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage, based on literary and artistic merit.

    Audie Awards

    Audie Awards:  Audio Publishers Association honors the best titles audiobooks and spoken-word entertainment.
    bram stoker award  

    Bram Stoker Awards®:  From The Horror Writers Association, yearly award for "superior achievement" in horror and dark fantasy writing.


    Children's Africana Book Award:  "CABA is presented annually to the authors and illustrators of the best children’s, young adult and new adult books on Africa published or republished in the U.S."

     Coretta Scott King Award Coretta Scott King Award:  "Given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values."

     Edgar Award

    The Edgar® Awards: Mystery Writers of America.“Each spring, MWA presents the Edgar®Awards, widely acknowledged to be the most prestigious awards in the genre.”
    goodreads choice awards

    Choice Awards by Category

    Goodreads Choice Awards: Best Young Adult Fiction Awards

    Goodreads Choice Awards: Best Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction Awards

    Harvey Awards

    Harvey Awards:  "The Harvey Awards are one of the comic industry’s oldest and most prestigious awards. Spotlighting comic books, graphic novels, manga and more." 

    hugo award

    The Hugo Awards: "Science fiction's most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are selected by a vote of the memebers of the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon)."

    New Vision Award Lee & Low

    New Visions Award: "Given yearly for a middle grade or young adult novel by a writer of color or Native/Indigenous writer".

    malice domestic
    Malice Domestic:  The Agatha Awards. "If Traditional Mysteries are your cup of tea...saluting the traditional mystery—books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie. "

    national book award

    National Book Awards:  "Celebrates the best of American literature in four categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature."

     Nebula award Nebula Award: Presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. Includes awards for best novel, novella, Andrew Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy and more.

     Newbery Award

     The Newbery Award:  Association for Library Service to Children. Given“to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
      Pura Belpré award

    Pura Belpré Award:  "presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth." From ALSC, ALA, and REFORMA

    Schneider Family Book Award

    Schneider Family Book Award:  "Honors an author or illustratpr for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and young adult audiences."

    Spur award

    The Spur Award: Western Writers of America. “Given annually for distinguished writing about the American West.” Scroll below years for titles.

    stonewall book award

    Stonewall Book Award:  "The first and most enduring award for LGBTQIA+ books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Rainbow Round Table."

     Sydney Taylor Book Award

    Sydney Taylor Book Award:  Recognizes books for children and teens that exemplify high literary standards while authentically portraying the Jewish experience.
    The Walter Award
    Walter Dean Myers Awards for Outstanding Children's Literature (The Walter):   Inaugurated in 2016, the annual Walter Dean Myers Awards for Outstanding Children's Literature recognize diverse authors (or co-authors) whose works feature diverse main characters and address diversity in a meaningful way. Two to four Honor Books are also named annually. We Need Diverse Books defines “diverse” to be one or more of the following: a person of color, Native American, LGBTQIA, a person with a disability, and/or a member of a marginalized religious or cultural minority in the United States.
      Webpage created L.G.Buschmann. Updated 03/31/2021. 



  • New York Times Best Seller List