•  
                    cfst
    CHILD AND FAMILY SUPPORT TEAMS
    (CFST)
       

    Seven schools in the Winston Salem / Forsyth County School system are Child and Family Support Team schools. The purpose of theese schools is to identify and coordinate appropriate services and support for children at risk of school failure or out-of-home placement by addressing the physical, social, legal, emotional and developmental factors that affect academic performance. Referrals are generated through self referral by students or from school personnel and families. Teams composed of a clinical school social worker and a registered nurse assess and offer interventions specific to the need of the student and their family through direct service or referral to appropriate Humans Service providers.

    The initiative encourages collaboration among all Human Service providers and the development of a system-of-care on behalf of children and families. Michael Pesce, WS/FCS Director of School Social Work, is the supervisor of our Child and Family Support Teams.  He can be reached at 748-4007, or mpesce@wsfcs.k12.nc.us.

    Schools hosting Child and Family Support Teams and a listing of staff are as follows:
     
    Ibraham Elementary:
    Jennifer Applegate, BSW jlapplegate@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  
    Shannon Taylor, RN Taylor, Shannon M smtaylor2@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  

    Middle Fork LAB (Appalachian State University):
    Rhonda Lang, LCSW rblang@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  
    Meleah Cox, RN mcox@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  

    Walkertown Middle:
    April Ellis, LCSW  adellis@wsfcs.k12.nc.us   
    Cindee Mason, RN cmason@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  

    Carver High:
    Rebecca Steintrager rcsteintrager@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  
    Andrea Mikolaitis, RN  ahmikolaitis@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Diggs-Latham Elementary:
    Cleopatra Morrison csmorrison@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
    Kim Hall, RN  kjhall@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Philo-Hill Magnet Academy:
    Alanna Zambrano, LCSW, LCAS-A aazambrano@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
    Rebecca Albertson, RN  rvalbertson@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Parkland High:
     
    Debra Sumners, LCSW  dsumners@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  
    Allison Marshall,MSN, RN abmarshall@wsfcs.k12.nc.us