•  
      
                  cfst
          CFST Brochure
    CHILD AND FAMILY SUPPORT TEAMS
    (CFST)
       

    Six schools in the Winston Salem / Forsyth County School system are Child and Family Support Team schools. The purpose of these teams is to identify and coordinate appropriate services and support for children at risk of school failure or out-of-home placement by addressing the physical, social, legal, emotional and developmental factors that affect academic performance. Teams are composed of a school social worker and a registered nurse. They assess and offer interventions specific to the needs of the student and their family through direct service or referral to appropriate service providers. The teams encourage collaboration with all service providers and the development of a system-of-care on behalf of children and families. Sheila Thorp, Director of School Social Work, is the supervisor of  the CFST social workers.  She can be reached at 336-748-4007, or sdthorp@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
     
    Referrals are generated through self referral by students or from school personnel and families.  To submit a referral, please contact the School Social Worker or Nurse at your CFST School.

    Schools hosting Child and Family Support Teams and a listing of staff are as follows:
     
    Elementary
    Diggs-Latham Elementary: 
    SSW: TBA 
    Nurse: TBA  
     
    Easton Elementary:
    SSW: Amy Kelly  aekelly@wsfcs.k12.nc.us   
    Nurse: Stacy Payne  sgpayne@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
     
    Ibraham Elementary:
    SSW: Jennifer Applegate  jlapplegate@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  
    Nurse: Shannon Taylor  smtaylor2@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  

    Middle Schools:  

    Philo-Hill Magnet Academy:
    SSW: Esmeralda Wyatt  ewyatt@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
    Nurse: Nanette Stahl  ndstahl@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
     
     
    High Schools:  
     
    Carver High School:
    SSW: Tina Garrett  tdgarrett@wsfcs.k12.nc.us   
    Nurse: Stephanie Smith
     
    Parkland High School:                            
    SSW: Elizabeth Ball  elball@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  
    Nurse: Angela Sheek  ahskeek@wsfcs.k12.nc.us