•  
      
                  cfst
          CFST Brochure
    CHILD AND FAMILY SUPPORT TEAMS
    (CFST)
       

    Seven schools in the Winston Salem / Forsyth County School system are Child and Family Support Team schools. The purpose of theese teams is to identify and coordinate appropriate services and support for children at risk of school failure or out-of-home placement by addressing the physical, social, legal, emotional and developmental factors that affect academic performance. Referrals are generated through self referral by students or from school personnel and families. Teams, composed of a clinical school social worker and a registered nurse, assess and offer interventions specific to the need of the student and their family through direct service or referral to appropriate Humans Service providers.

    The teams encourages collaboration among all Human Service providers and the development of a system-of-care on behalf of children and families. Sheila Thorp, Director of School Social Work, is the supervisor of  the CFST social workers.  She can be reached at 748-4007, or sdthorp@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Schools hosting Child and Family Support Teams and a listing of staff are as follows:
     
    Ibraham Elementary:
    Jennifer Applegate, BSW jlapplegate@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  
    Shannon Taylor, BSN,RN, NCSN  smtaylor2@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  

    Middle Fork LAB (Appalachian State University):
    TBD
    Meleah Cox, BSN, RN, NCSN mcox@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  

    Easton Elementary:
    Emily Vaughn, LCSW  esvaughn@wsfcs.k12.nc.us   
    Nurse Stacy Payne, RN, BSN  sgpayne@wsfcs.k12.nc.us 

    Carver High:
    Rebecca Steintrager, LCSW  rcsteintrager@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  
    Andrea Mikolaitis, BSN, RN, NCSN, CPN  ahmikolaitis@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Diggs-Latham Elementary:
    Cleopatra Morrison, LCSW csmorrison@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
    Kim Hall, BSN,RN, CNRN, NCSN  kjhall@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Philo-Hill Magnet Academy:
    Robin Hull, BSN,RN  rhull@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

     
    Parkland High                           
    Elizabeth Ball, LCSW  elball@wsfcs.k12.nc.us  
    Angela Sheek, BSN,RN ahskeek@wsfcs.k12.nc.us