• Overview of Title I (Information from the WSFCS Main Website)

    Title I, Part A, of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), is a federally funded program that provides financial assistance to local education agencies (LEAs) and schools.  The purpose of the Title I program is to help at-risk students meet the state's challenging academic content and performance standards.  Schools qualify for Title I funds based on economic need.  The Title I program offers a variety of services for participating schools, which may include: additional teachers and support staff, extra time for instruction, a variety of teaching methods and materials, smaller classes, and additional training for staff.

    Every Student Succeeds Act

    On December 10, 2015, President Obama signed the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), legislation to rewrite the Elementary and Secondary Education Act and replace the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB). ESSA provides support to schools with groups of traditionally underserved students who consistently demonstrate low performance. ESSA also provides support to high schools with low graduation rates. The law requires data on student achievement and graduation rates to be reported as well as action in response to that data. However, unlike NCLB, states, districts, and schools will determine what support and interventions are implemented. Additionally, ESSA provides states and districts with a great degree of flexibility and responsibility with regard to timelines for progress, school improvement strategies, strong parental involvement and community support.


    Click the following link for a powerpoint on Title I -Understanding Title I Programs 




Last Modified on April 7, 2020