• GHS Bobcat Athletics

     

    Athletic Director

    Joe McCormick

     jmccormi@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Asst. Athletic Director

    Antwon Stevenson

     rastevenson@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

    Asst. Athletic Director

    Marty Stanley**

    Bobcatad1@yahoo.com

    Athletic Trainer

    Candace Morales

    cpmorales@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

     

     

    CURRENTLY THE FOLLOWING SPORTS ARE HOLDING WORKOUTS: FOOTBALL, MEN'S SOCCER, CHEERLEADING, MENS AND WOMENS BASKETBALL, MENS AND WOMENS LACROSSE. BEGINNING THE WEEK OF 12/14 THE FOLLOWING SPORTS MAY BEGIN WORKOUTS (WOMEN'S GOLF, MEN'S TENNIS, WOMEN'S SOCCER, AND SOFTBALL) PLEASE CONTACT THE COACH LISTED BELOW FOR DETAILS. IF YOU WISH TO PARTICIPATE PLEASE READ PHYSICAL REQUIREMENTS BELOW AND CONTACT THE COACH OF THE APPROPRIATE SPORT BELOW. DO NOT JUST SHOW UP AS A COACH WILL NEED TO MAKE SURE YOU ARE CLEARED AND ASSIGN YOU TO A WORKOUT POD.

     
    ANYONE WISHING TO PARTICIPATE IN PRACTICES OR PRE/POST SEASON WORKOUTS (INLUDING SUMMER) MUST HAVE AN UP-TO-DATE PHYSICAL WITH THE ENTIRE PACKET COMPLETED. (Link is to the left)
     
    NOTE ABOUT PRE-PARTICIPATION FORM FOR 2020-2021 (Physical Examination Form): Due to the extraordinary circumstances created by the COVID-19 pandemic resulting in school closures, a one year emergency addition to the State Board of Education Policy, ATHL-001, Interscholastic Athletics, has been approved by the State Board of Education on April 23, 2020.
     
    Date of Current Physical Requirement for 2020-2021
    Prior to 03/01/19 Need valid, up-to-date physical prior to participating.
    On or after 03/01/19 through 05/01/20 Granted a temporary extension to participate through the end of the 2020-2021 academic year.
    On or after 05/02/20 Will participate based on the current policy of being “valid for 395 days”
     
     
     
    THE FOLLOWING SPORTS ARE CURRENTLY IN SEASON: VOLLEYBALL & CROSS COUNTRY
     
    THE FOLLOWING SPORTS BEGIN TRYOUTS/PRACTICE SOON: SWIMMING (NOV 23), BASKETBALL (DEC 7), CHEERLEADING (12/7)
     
     
    PLEASE CONTACT THE COACHES BELOW IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN THAT SPORT
    Varsity AND JV Football  -  Contact Antwon Stevenson (rastevenson@wsfcs.k12.nc.us) WORKOUTS M, TU, TH
     
    Varsity AND JV Volleyball - Contact Bob Horn (rahorn@wsfcs.k12.nc.us) PRACTICE/GAMES M-F
                                                         
    Varsity AND JV Boys Soccer - Contact Sean Sexton/Varsity (scsexton@wsfcs.k12.nc.us) WORKOUTS TU, TH
                                                    Contact Ryan Willis/JV (coach.willis@yahoo.com) WORKOUTS TU, TH
     
    MENS AND WOMENS Cross-Country - Contact Kindra Ritzie-Worthy (kbritzieworthy@wsfcs.k12.nc.us) PRACTICE/MEETS M-F
                                                                   
     
    Varsity Girls Golf - Contact Rick Bright (rcbright@wsfcs.k12.nc.us) VIRTUAL / BEGINNING 12/14 DAYS TBD 
     
     
    Varsity Girls Tennis - Contact Kenny Smith (klsmith2@wsfcs.k12.nc.us) VIRTUAL 
     
     
    Boys Basketball- Contact Johnathan Gainey (johnbgainey@gmail.com) WORKOUTS TU, TH TRYOUTS 12/7
     
     
    Girls Basketball- Contact Katie Kearney (kakearney@wsfcs.k12.nc.us) WORKOUTS M, TH TRYOUTS 12/7
     
     
    Mens and Womens Swimming - Contact Ellen Hefner (ehefner@wsfcs.k12.nc.us PRACTICE M-F BEGINNING 11/23
     
     
    Boys Lacrosse - Contact Hugh Fiery (hughmfiery@gmail.com) WORKOUTS W, TH 
     
     
    Girls Lacrosse - Contact Courtney Murtha (cmurtha@highpoint.edu) WORKOUTS W, TH 
     
     
    Softball - Contact Amber Foster (anfoster@wsfcs.k12.nc.us) BEGINNING 12/14 WORKOUT DAYS TU, TH
     
     
    Girls Soccer - Contact Ryan Willis (coach.willis@yahoo.com) BEGINNING 12/14 WORKOUT DAYS TU, TH 
     
     
    Varsity Mens Tennis - Contact Rae Hurley (rhurley@wsfcs.k12.nc.us) BEGINNING 12/14 DAYS TBD 
      
     
     
     Any other questions should be directed to Athletic Director Joe McCormick at jmccormi@wsfcs.k12.nc.us or 336-771-4510
     
     
     
     
    Athletic Director: Joe McCormick, jmccormi@wsfcs.k12.nc.us
     
     
    Any other questions should be directed to Athletic Director via email or 336-771-4510

     

Last Modified on November 13, 2020