• SIT Logo


    The School Improvement Team of R.J. Reynolds High School is a committee comprised of members from the school's administration, faculty and staff; parents; community leaders; and students that are committed to working cooperatively toward fulfilling the mission of the school.

    Approximately 25 members of the School Improvement Team consist of faculty representing each instructional department as well as teachers from the elective, exceptional and English as a Second Language areas; and a classified employee representative.

    Parent representatives are chosen to reflect the racial and socio-economic composition of the school and serve a two-year term.

    The School Improvement Team strives to make R.J. Reynolds High School the best high school for its students and employees.

    Examples of some of the issues addressed by the School Improvement Team include:

    • Improving End-of-Course test scores;
    • School safety;
    • Faculty and staff development; and
    • The allocation of PTSA fund-raising money.

    Schools in the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County School are responsible for site-based school-improvement plans, making it extremely valuable to have a School Improvement Team to carry out those plans.

    The communication between administration, faculty, staff, parents, community leaders and students is a vital component to our school's success.

  • 2023-2024 SIT Members

    Calvin Freeman Principal
    Alisha Tuck Thompson SIT Chair /Career Development Coordinator 
    David Friedman Assistant Principal
    Anthony Grier Assistant Principal
    Paul Pressly Assistant Principal
    Pamela Kirkland Arts Magnet Director 
    Charmell Pettus Assistant Principal of Instruction
    Angela Bowman Dean of Students 
    Thomas Bowles Family Engagement Coordinator
    Jo Higgins Media Coordinator
    Susan Annas Financial Secretary
    Tracy Cobb Science Teacher  
    Phillip Boyd CTE Teacher
    Stacey Jolly ESL Teacher 
    Parker Hunt English Teacher
    Michael Chamis Performing Arts Teacher 
    Virginia Anderson World Language Teacher
    Robin Myers CTE Teacher
    Ella Hill Social Studies Teacher
    Heather Koehler Math Teacher
    Nicole Beale Director or Student Services 
    Megann Huggins Instructional Technology/Testing Coordinator
    Kristen Zaks PTSA President / Parent
    Elizabeth Turner Parent
    Bridget Reynolds Parent
    Stephanie Kennedy Parent 
    Jennifer Lockert EC Teacher


    2023-2024 SIT Meeting Dates

    September 18, 2023
    October 9, 2023
    November 13, 2023
    December 11, 2023
    January 16, 2024
    February 12, 2024
    March 11, 2024
    April 8, 2024
    May 13, 2024

    *All meetings are at 4:00 p.m. in the RJR Media Center unless otherwise indicated.

Last Modified on February 12, 2024