Return to Headlines

Innovative Teaching Grants Announced

Congratulations to the recipients of the Innovative Teaching Grants. When you are working with students on your project, you are welcome to email pictures and a write-up to Kim Underwood so that we can let others know about your project.

Logo 3 OCTOBER 9, 2019 - The recipients of the Innovative Teaching Grants for the 2019-20 school year have been announced.

The grants of up to $500 are sponsored by Woody Clinard and administered through the Forsyth Educator Partnership. The total amount awarded this school year comes to $23,480.

“Congratulations!” said Angie Vaughn, the Director  of the Forsyth Educator Partnership. “The money will be distributed to the school's financial officers within the next 10 days."  

A few notes from Vaughn:

  • ALL grants must be used during this current school year 
  • Some ITG winners were approved at a lower amount than requested.
  • We experienced a 200% increase in applications for the 2019-20 school year, therefore not all applications were funded.
  • If you applied this year and your project was not funded, please reapply next year.
  • Remember grant funds are to be used for projects in the classroom
  • All grant recipients will receive an observation during fourth quarter to showcase their project and are expected to submit a summary detailing how their project positively influenced their classroom and their students. 

If you have any questions, please email Angie Vaughn

The 2019-20 Innovative Teaching Grant recipients are:

Michelle Avendano, Speas Elementary, $500

Gabriella Sheran Ayala, Hall-Woodward Elementary, $460

Carrie Elizabeth Bennett, Mount Tabor High, $330

Larry Berry, Main Street Academy, $500

Eva Bishop, Jefferson Elementary, $500

Mimi Beth Blackweider, Lowrance Middle, $500

Michell Bratton, Kimberley Park Elementary, $500

Kim Briggs, Reynolds High, $500

Wendy Broadstreet, Jefferson Middle, $500

Rose Brown, Kimberley Park Elementary, $300

Edwina Cain, Ward Elementary, $500

Lauren Casey, Hall-Woodward Elementary, $500

Kathleen Crook, Morgan Elementary, $500

Brennon David, Main Street Academy, $500

Holly DuBois, Caleb’s Creek Elementary, $466

Jennifer Edgerton, Union Cross Elementary, $400

Jessica Fields, Southwest Elementary, $420

Venessa Flynt, Kimberley Park Elementary, $350     

Dona Frass, Griffith Elementary, $500

Mariah Fullton, Mineral Springs Middle, $100

Catherine Gant, Piney Grove Elementary, $500

Kathryn Gehrs, Kimberley Park Elementary, $350

Celia Gonzalez, Speas Global Elementary, $403

Mary Griffith, Mineral Springs Middle, $500

Stephanie Griffith, Meadowlark Elementary, $500

Tiffany Hagan, Hall-Woodward, $475

Tammy Hancock, Vienna Elementary, $300

Ashley Hayes, Union Cross Elementary, $253

Ellen Hefner, Glenn High, $500

Pay Hooker, West Forsyth High, $500      

Beatrix Hutton, Kimberley Park Elementary, $500

Monique Jones, Hall-Woodward Elementary, $500

Elizabeth Krivsky, Clemmons Middle, $500

Julie LaPlante, Sedge Garden Elementary, $500

Shannon Andrew Martin, Rural Hall Elementary, $125

Jennifer Pisini Martin, Mount Tabor High, $500

Marcia Mahaffey, Clemmons Middle, $500

Mike McDowell, Jefferson Middle, $500

Karen Morris, Flat Rock Middle, $500

Robin Myers, Reynolds High, $500

Michele Parsons, Mineral Springs Middle, $350

Michelle Pate, Mineral Springs Middle, $500      

Amanda Reaves, Union Cross Elementary, $500

Jennifer Seabourn/Bonnie Alexander, Mineral Spring Elementary, $500

Erin Riddle-Smith, Kimberley Park Elementary, $485

Robert Steven Rose, Mineral Springs Middle, $500

Laurie Schaefer, Mount Tabor High, $480

Kristen Stouffer, South Fork Elementary, $200

Sylvan Taylor, The Downtown School, $410

Alessandra Terreni, Jefferson Elementary, $240      

Kaycee Thomas, Whitaker Elementary, $421

Debra Coram Troxell, West Forsyth High, $270

Carlos Valencia, Diggs-Latham Elementary, $490

Kayla Vaden, Piney Grove Elementary, $500

Shayne Willis, Flat Rock Middle, $402