Return to Headlines

Reagan Teacher Receives National Award

Math 3 OCTOBER 22, 2019 – Wendy Bartlett, who teaches math at Reagan High, was one of four North Carolina teachers who joined teachers from across the country in Washington last week to receive a Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) – the highest honor bestowed by the federal government specifically for K-12 mathematics and science teaching.

“I am honored and humbled to be the recipient of this award,” Bartlett said. “There are so many deserving teachers in our state.” 

“Receiving the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching for North Carolina is a testimony to the many colleagues that have mentored, supported, and created lessons with me, as well as the many students who have taught me more about life than I may ever teach them about math.”   

Along with a certificate signed by the President of the United States, the award comes with a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

The other North Carolina recipients were: Laura Lawrence, Asheville School, Asheville (Science); Elizabeth Gillikin, Smyrna Elementary School, Carteret County Public Schools (Mathematics); and Kathryn Matthews, Valle Crucis Elementary School, Watagua County Schools (Science).

State Superintendent Mark Johnson said the state's four honorees exemplify the highest quality classroom instruction that all students in North Carolina deserve.

“If our students are to succeed in school and in whatever path they choose after graduation, they need teachers who are in command of their content and are great in the classroom,” Johnson said. “And in today's world, no more so is this the case than with math and science.”

math 66 Bartlett has been teaching mathematics for 22 years.

She is in her third year teaching Mathematics 1 and Honors Mathematics 2 at Reagan High School. Previously, she taught mathematics for 19 years at Parkland High School.

This comes from her award profile:

“Wendy has always felt that teaching is her calling, easily seen in her tireless work ethic and desire to inspire every student to love mathematics. Using technology to ensure student learning and engagement is her passion. In her classroom, you will see students using a variety of technology tools to deepen their conceptual understanding of mathematics.”

“She has received the Marcellus Waddill Excellence in Teaching Award from Wake Forest University, the Career Award in Science and Mathematics Teaching from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund, and the Outstanding Secondary Mathematics Teacher for Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools.”

“Wendy has presented professional development sessions at conferences organized by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics and the North Carolina Council of Teachers of Mathematics, sharing topics such as: "Using Desmos in the Classroom," "Using Technology for Formative Assessment," and "Mathematics 1 Tasks - Tried and True!"

“Wendy earned a B.S. in mathematics from Wake Forest University, an M.A.Ed. from UNC Charlotte, and her National Board Certification in mathematics/adolescent and young adulthood.”

Math 77 According to a release from the N.C. Department of Public Instruction, awardees reflect the expertise and dedication of the nation's teaching corps, and they demonstrate the positive impact of excellent teachers on student achievement. The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Awards are given to science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teachers from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Department of Defense Education Activity schools, or the U.S. territories as a group (American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and U.S. Virgin Islands).

The award recognizes those teachers have both deep content knowledge of the subjects they teach and the ability to motivate and enable students to be successful in those areas. Since the program's inception in 1983, more than 4,800 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession.

A panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators select the winners following an initial selection process at the state level. Nomination years alternate between teachers in the kindergarten through 6th grade level, and those teaching 7th through 12th grades.

This year's recipients represent two nomination years, one of teachers in kindergarten through 6th grade classrooms, and the other in 7th through 12th grade classrooms.

The nomination process for K-6 teachers of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics for the 2020 Presidential Awards is now open. Anyone can nominate a great teacher at Nominate.