Return to Headlines

Core Awards Live Broadcast is Thursday, May 28 @ 5 p.m.

Care 55 MAY 22, 2020 – We hope you will join us for the Virtual Core Awards on Thursday, May 28 at 5 p.m.! See below for the list of finalists that will be recognized during the Third Annual Core Awards ceremony! Watch the winners be announced live! 

Six finalists were chosen in each of four categories: Teacher of the Year, Principal of the Year, Assistant Principal of the Year, and Classified Employee of the Year.

This year, a virtual awards celebration is scheduled for 5 to 6 p.m. on May 28. The celebration will feature the finalists, and the winners will be announced during an awards show on Channel 2. 

The Teacher of the Year finalists are:

Barbara Kibler, Whitaker Elementary

Amy Whicker, Northwest Middle

Stephanie Wallace, East Forsyth High

Vanita Fleming, Reynolds High

Melinda Stinson, Walkertown High

Jodi McIntosh, Homebound/Hospital

The Principal of the Year finalists are:

Debbie McIntyre, Jefferson Elementary

Neil Raymer, Meadowlark Elementary

Donald Wyatt, Sedge Garden Elementary

Robert Ash, Speas Global Elementary

Trina Bethea, Walkertown Elementary

Ed Weiss, Mount Tabor High

The Assistant Principal of the Year finalists are:

Katie McGregor, Jefferson Elementary

Teresa Rose, Kernersville Elementary

Angie Reeves, Sedge Garden Elementary

Leigh Walters, Meadowlark Middle

Seth Cabonor, Mineral Springs Middle

Karen Archie, Reynolds High

The Classified Employee of the Year finalists are:

Maria Alvarez, Diggs-Latham Elementary

Darren Brantley, Konnoak Elementary

Cathy Comer, Old Richmond Elementary

Sheri Grubbs, The Special Children’s School

Patricia Home, Carver High

Sharon Freeman, Instructional Services Department